Author Avatars List 0.8

I’ve just released version 0.8 of the Author Avatars List plugin.

Changes in this version:

  • Added feature to show a user’s biography next to the avatar
  • Added feature to limit shown users by a minimum number of posts
  • Added feature to show a user’s number of posts
  • Added Italian translation (by Gianni Diurno)

You can download the new version as usual from the from the WordPress plugin repository or of course simply install it using WordPress’ plugin update feature.

28 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Paul Bearne on February 25, 2010 at 22:50

    Well done on getting this out

  2. Posted by Simon on March 4, 2010 at 12:11

    I have uploaded this plugin to my site but it has now broken my widget page!!!!!!

    Have deactivated and deleted and still no luck!!!!

    :*(

    • Simon, sorry about that… I have had someone else emailing me about the same problem, but I haven’t had any luck figuring out what exactly causes the problem — it all works fine on my test servers (current version of wordpress, no other plugins activated).

      A quick fix to just get it working would be to edit the file lib/AuthorAvatars.class.php and comment line 82 (‘author-avatars-widget-admin’ javascript registration). That disables the plugin-specific javascript code which I think is causing the issue, but allows you to still use the plugin… (only dynamic things like “resizing the avatar preview” will not work anymore).

      Hope this helps; if anyone can help me debug this problem please do let me know!

  3. Posted by Simon on March 4, 2010 at 14:59

    Thanks for that

    Also – another thing – I have it installed on another site and it works fine.

    However… I’m trying to get the author name and description to wrap around the image. At the moment the text aligns at the bottom of the image. Additionally – how do I change the padding around the image.

    Many thanks!

    • I am guessing that the plugin’s css stylesheet does not get applied correctly; avatars inserted via the widget with user description float to the left by default. Padding is also defined in the stylesheet… The way to adjust any of this would be to copy and override them in your theme’s style.css.

      For the shortcode version I haven’t added a respective stylesheet yet…

  4. Posted by Simon on March 5, 2010 at 17:50

    Have you got skype/email I can send shots too?

    Basically the text aligns at the bottom of the image – not at the top.

    I tried the style sheet thing but still no luck!

    Cheers

  5. Posted by Simon on March 5, 2010 at 17:55

    Argh – sorry – you’re going to hate me for this –

    I am using User Photo to assign author images to authors – but these are not appearing in the sidebar.

    Any ideas?

  6. Posted by Simon on March 6, 2010 at 16:24

    Another problem:

    Trying to change the size of the pictures. Have changed the settings in the widget, but still no change on the sidebar.

  7. Posted by Simon on March 13, 2010 at 15:06

    Anyone there???

    • Posted by paul bearne on March 22, 2010 at 17:07

      What the URL so I can have a look

      It sound like CSS problems

      Paul

  8. Posted by Simon on April 14, 2010 at 16:11

    How and where do I update the theme?

    hanks

  9. Posted by Scot on April 20, 2010 at 15:07

    I’m using WPMU 2.9.2 with BuddyPress 1.2.3 and for some reason when using Author Avatars List the avatars will only link correctly to the author page. When I use ‘blog’, my admin user links correctly but another user with ‘author’ status links to the root blog. When I try linking to the author ‘website’, the admin user works fine but the author will not link at all. Wondering if this is s rights issue or a conflict perhaps?

    Great plugin!

    • ‘Blog’ should link to a user’s blog (on the wpmu-platform); if a user doesn’t have one it links to main blog. ‘Website’ should link to a user’s website (as entered on their profile page); if the website field is empty, no link is created.

      The plugin uses a function called “get_active_blog_for_user()” to retrieve the active blog of a user… If a user doesn’t have a “primary blog” (or the primary blog is deleted, archived or marked as spam) then it links to the root blog.

      Can you make sure the user has either blog or website, and check again? If that doesn’t solve it it might well be a bug in this plugin… we never tested buddypress compatibility thoroughly.

  10. Posted by paul bearne on April 20, 2010 at 15:44

    Hi Simon

    It more than we can support.

    You need to get you theme coder to help you. 🙂

    Paul

  11. Posted by Scot on April 20, 2010 at 16:37

    @Ben

    Thanks for the explanation.

    When I set it to ‘blog’, the superadmin author links correctly to the demo blog (demo.blog.com) while the other author (with admin rights) links to the root blog. However, if I delete this author from the root blog it correctly points to the demo blog. Sounds like it overrides to the root blog on that setting for anyone but superadmin (though I think it makes more sense to have it on the blog where the widget resides, no?

    When I set it to ‘website” my superadmin avatar links to the BuddyPress profile (URL/members/admin). If I add a website URL in the user profile, it links there fine but as you say it has no link if this field is blank in the profile.

    How might I get all users to link to their BuddyPress profile when set to ‘website’ as is the case with superadmin?

    Thanks!

    • Okay, that does look like a bug… there should actually also be another link in the dropdown for linking to the buddypress profile; if that link is not there then that’s obviously broken.

      I just installed a test version of WordPress 3.0 beta and BuddyPress and there’s a number of things which don’t seem to work quite the way they’re supposed to… I’ll have a look at all these issues over the next few weeks, when I check compatibility with WordPress 3.0.

  12. Posted by Scot on April 20, 2010 at 21:43

    Yeah, I had a look at the code and saw the BuddyPress option but as you say it doesn’t appear. Looking forward to the fix.

    Thx

  13. The “Avatar lists without shortcode or widget” example on this page gives warnings:
    https://authoravatars.wordpress.com/documentation/developers-guide/

    Warning: array_keys() [function.array-keys]: The first argument should be an array in /home/content/a/p/c/apcwebupload/html/ames/tribblogs/wp-content/plugins/author-avatars/lib/UserList.class.php on line 354

    It works, but throws out that warning. Just FYI.

    • Posted by Ben on May 17, 2010 at 22:47

      Do you by any chance have any users which have no role assigned to them? If I remember correctly this should theoretically not happen in wordpress, but it would explain the error-message.

      I will have a look at this for the WordPress-3-release…

      • No, don’t have any users without roles defined. I am on a WordPress 3.0 nightly if that helps any. Let me know if you’d like me to test anything.

      • Posted by Paul Bearne on May 18, 2010 at 20:32

        Tyler: note the plug-in doesn’t work out its in MS mode on 3.0 the fix is in the head

  14. I’m glad I finally found this plug-in! It really solves a problem for me. Thanks for creating this!

    Wonder if you will re-consider on the pagination issue. I use your plug-in as an exhibitors’ list, and, since there are more than 2K, pagination would really help.

    • Posted by Ben on June 7, 2010 at 10:52

      Carol: not for the immediate next version, but I will consider it for future versions…

  15. Hi, How can I put it in my sidebar without using widget??

    • There’s a php snippet that you can add into your template in the developers guide on this blog… note that the snippet is a bit out of date so might require some fiddling to get to work…

Comments are closed.

